Jay Weatherill on Early Childhood Policy - Australian Fabians

Jay Weatherill on Early Childhood Policy

Tuesday - 14 July, 2020 - 07:30 PM

Online (Zoom) -

Join us on the 14th of July at 7.30PM AEST for a discussion with the Hon Jay Weatherill on early childhood policy in Australia.

Zoom link for the event us02web.zoom.us/j/89188232122


There is overwhelming evidence that physical, emotional and cognitive development between birth and eight years occurs at a greater rate than at any other period of human life. Moreover, experts agree that investing in early childhood results in tangible economic benefits. Economic analysis conducted by Nobel Laureate Dr James Heckman and colleagues found that a dollar invested in early childhood (0–6 years) yields three times as much as for school aged children (6–18 years) and eight times as much as for adult education (over 18 years). Among other things, these savings manifest in reduced demand for health services and reduced need for remedial education in schools. These benefits are felt well past the early years, with early childhood investment also reducing rates of substance abuse and unemployment across a lifetime.

Join the NSW Fabians on the 14th of July to hear from Jay Weatherill about how early childhood policy is being developed in Australia by governments and non-profits, what the top progressive policy priorities should be, and the unique opportunities and challenges that Covid-19 has created for this area.



Mr. Weatherill is currently the CEO of the Minderoo Foundation's Thrive by Five initiative, which aims to ensure all Australian children have the best start to life by investing in and advocating for effective early childhood development outcomes. He also leads the Australian Research Alliance for Children and Youth (ARACY) 10-year 'Great to Eight' research project. He served as the 45th Premier of South Australia, leading a Labor state government from October 2011 to March 2018.


Who’s going

Kade Parmenter Zann Maxwell Shaun Chapman D S melinda mcmillan Olym Li Marieke D'Cruz Linda Savage Declan Davis José Ascencio Oskar Durst Hyungyung Kim Graeme Wiffen Melinda McMillan Jane Jones Phil Drew Katrina Byrne Stefan Bulatovic Ray Wilson David Epstein Reagan Ward Norm Short Rob Muir

Who's RSVPing

Kade Parmenter
Shaun Chapman
melinda mcmillan
Olym Li
Marieke D'Cruz
Linda Savage
Hyungyung Kim
Melinda McMillan
Jane Jones
Rob Muir

We use cookies on our websites. You are free to manage this via your browser setting at any time. OK